Oilseed Rape

Worldwide, the annual production of oilseed rape amounts to more than 65 million tons, more than 5 million tons of which in Germany alone. A cultivation area of nearly 1.4 million hectares in Germany in the year 2014 bespeaks the important role oilseed rape has gained in recent years in agriculture..

A distinction must be made between winter and spring varieties. While in Central Europe, winter oilseed rape is predominant, in Canada, the worldwide leader in oilseed rape production, the annual production of 15 million tons comes mostly from spring oil seed rape. After the harvest, the black-brown seeds will be pressed to extract the valuable oil, and the leftover rapeseed press cake will be used as protein-rich animal feed.

The globally important role of oilseed rape is a recent phenomenon. Up until the 1970ies, oil from oilseed rape has mostly been used for technical purposes. Its originally high content of monounsaturated erucic acid made it indigestible for humans, while glucosinolates in the press cakes were highly problematic for uses as animal feed.

Decisive steps in this development can be laid down to two of the GSA shareholders: The innovative breeding pro­grammes of these two compa­nies made them the worldwide pioneers in oilseed rape enhancement, and without their contributions, oilseed rape would still play a marginal role. Both companies are also world leaders in the breeding of yield-stable hybrid plant varieties.

It was only after breeding efforts successfully created the so-called “double-low” (or “double-zero”) oilseed rape, i.e. varieties that contained practically no erucic acid and a very low content in glucosinolates, that this crop really took off and triumphed as food and feed. Its value also resides in the fact that it has markedly more essential oleic acids than e.g. olive oil.

Since the turn of the mille­nnium, oilseed rape has also been increasingly cultivated as a renewable resource for the production of bio-fuels. In Germany, oilseed rape is currently the only native oil plant that can be used for bio-energy production.

The GSA sales partner RAPOOL holds an outstanding market position, especially in Europe and Eastern Europe.

If you have any questions concerning plant varieties or seeds or if you need an in-depth agronomic counselling, please contact the respec­tive counsellors under: www.rapool.com

Raps

Über 65 Millionen Tonnen Raps werden pro Jahr weltweit produziert, mehr als 5 Millionen Tonnen allein in Deutschland. Knapp 1,4 Millio­nen Hektar Anbaufläche in Deutschland (2014) sind der Beleg für die enorme Bedeutung, die Raps in der Landwirtschaft inzwischen hat.

Es wird zwischen Sommer- und Winterraps unterschieden. In Mittel­europa wird haupt­sächlich Winterraps angebaut, in Kanada, dem mit mehr als 15 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr weltweit führenden Raps-Produzenten, überwiegt der Sommerraps. Nach der Ernte wird aus den bräunlich-schwarzen Samen der Pflanzen das hochwertige Rapsöl gewonnen, der verbleibende Rapskuchen dient in der Tierernährung als Proteinlieferant

Die international bedeutende Stellung hat Raps noch nicht lange. Bis in die Siebzigerjahre des vergangenen Jahrhunderts wurde Rapsöl überwiegend für technische Zwecke ver­wendet. Die ursprünglich im Raps enthaltene, einfach ungesättigte Erucasäure ist für den Menschen unverträglich, die Glucosinolate in den Pressrückständen verursachten in der Tierernährung große Probleme.

An dieser Entwicklung haben die beiden Gesellschafter der GSA einen ganz erheblichen Anteil: Beide Unternehmen gehören mit ihrer innovativen Züchtung weltweit zu den Pionieren, ohne deren Leistung Raps heute fast unbedeutend wäre. International führend sind beide Unternehmen zudem in der Züchtung ertrags­sicherer Hybridsorten.

Erst durch die erfolgreiche Züchtung des so genann­ten Doppelnull-Raps (00-Raps), der praktisch erucasäurefrei ist und nur einen sehr gerin­gen Anteil an Glucosino­laten enthält, begann der Sieges­zug dieser Pflanze für die menschliche Ernährung und als Tierfutter. Seine Wertig­keit beruht auch darauf, dass Rapsöl deutlich mehr essen­tielle Fettsäuren enthält als Olivenöl.

Etwa seit der Jahrtausend­wende wird Raps auch ver­stärkt als nachwachsender Rohstoff zur Herstellung von Bio-Kraftstoffen angebaut. In Deutsch­land ist die Rapspflanze derzeit der einzige heimische Öllieferant, der Bioenergie liefert.

Eine herausragende Stellung im Markt, vor allem in Europa und Ost­europa, nimmt der GSA-Ver­triebspartner RAPOOL ein.

Fragen zu Sorten und Saatgut sowie weitergehende Beratung sind zu richten an die jeweiligen Berater unter: www.rapool.de